50 CHAPTER I.

Public Debt.
Trade and Commerce.
Traxation.
Borrowing money on public credit.
Postal Service.
Census and Statistics.
Militia and Military and Naval Service.
Civil Service.
Lighthouses, Buoys, &c.
Navigation and Shipping.
Quarantine and Marine Hospitals.
Sea Coast and Inland Fisheries.
Inter-provincial Ferries, and with
Foreign Countries.
Currency and Coinage.

Banking.
Savings Banks.
Weights and Measure
Bills of Exchange.
Interest.
Legal Tender.
Bankruptcy.
Patents.
Copyrights.
Indians.
Naturalization.
Marriage and Divorce.
Criminal Law.
Penitentiaries.

Administration of public affairs.

93. The administration of public affairs is at presented divided into the following twelve departments, viz.: Finance, Trade and Commerce. which includes Customs and Inland Revenue, Justice, Public Works, Railways and Canals, Militia and Defence, Agriculture, Post Office, Marine and Fisheries, Interior and Indian Affairs, and Department of Secretary of State, which includes the Department of Public Printing and Stationery. Each of these departments is presided over by a Minister, who may be a member either of the Senate or the House of Commons. The Minister of Finance is also Receiver-General, and the Minister of the Interior is also Superintendent-General of Indian By a Bill which was passed during the Session of 1890, the Geological Survey, which had been a branch of the Department of the Interior, was made a separate department under a deputy head. Provision was made by legislation in 1887 for the amalgamation of the existing Departments of Customs and Inland Revenue, the new department to be known as that of Trade and Commerce, presided over by a Minister, designated accordingly, while in the place of the then present Ministers of Customs and Inland Revenue, two Comptrollers were to be appointed, who should vacate their offices on any change of Government, and should not necessarily have seats in the Cabinet. This arrangement was carried into effect by proclamation on 3rd December, 1892.

Provincial Legislatures. 94. The Lieutenant-Governors of the several Provinces and of the Territories, are appointed by the Governor-General in Council under the Great Seal, and hold office during pleasure, provided, however, that, except as regards the Territories, no Lieutenant-Governor can be removed from office for five years from the date of appointment, except for special cause assigned. The forms of the Legislatures vary in the different provinces. Quebec, Nova Scotia† and Prince Edward Island have each two Chambers (a Legislative Council and a Legislative Assembly), and a responsible Ministry. The Provincial Legislature of Prince Edward Island has passed an Act for the abolition of the Legislative Council, but the Act has not yet received the assent of the Lieutenant-Governor. In Ontario, New Brunswick, Manitoba and

⁺ See note to the next table.